Mount Joy Historical Society

Street view of our museum and school house meeting room

“And they left me off at $1500” – A Century of Progress at Reist Popcorn Company


This hardback book was a labor of love by local David A. Reist. It captures the story of Reist Popcorn Company during its Century of Progress.

Check out our latest publication!


To seek, preserve and make available the history of the Mount Joy Area.

Who We Are

The Mount Joy Area Historical Society was chartered in 1973 by a group of citizens who were concerned about the future of precious historical records and artifacts of the Mount Joy Area.

The organization has prospered during its nearly 45+ years solely through the efforts of dedicated volunteers and members, who continue to be its most vital asset.

You have an opportunity to partner with The Mount Joy Area Historical Society by making a small investment in preserving the unique history of the Mount Joy Area. You can purchase a membership here.


President: Sue Hostetter

Vice President: Linda Eberly

Secretary: Mary Nolt

Treasurer: Brenda Kready

Membership Secretary: Brenda Kready

Archivists: Brenda Kready and Linda Eberly 


Kim Bair

Ned Sterling

Alyssa Zevallos 

Don Zerphey

Rod Wilbert

Dave Reist